Not sure where to fix now area has cracked

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I was given the advice to use M16 anchor bolts to hold a post to a patio, but the first one which I've tightened up has created a large crack.

So far I don't know if this will just be the render thats cracked (I think it's brick underneath, judging by the red dust when I drilled the hole), or if the crack is more serious.

Am I best ripping the cracked section off now, and seing if the brick needs replacing behind it, or should I leave it and try and fix another way?

The post needs to be here, and whilst I can get a fixing lower down, I'll need one where I drilled the first hole.

Many thanks,

James.

//media.diynot.com/196000_195848_93592_91067842_thumb.jpg

Sponsored Links
M16! That's ridiculous! Its too close to the edge more than likely will have cracked the brick. Simples.

Find another means to support your post.

I did think it seemed OTT, but I'm new to all this so I went with the advice.

I'm now thinking I will use wither M10 x 150 screws and plugs, or maybe some M10 / M12 concrete screws.

What I'm looking for though please is advice with how to fix the mess of the cracked area, which is where I need to fix.

Should I replace this brick, if it has cracked, or should I use brackets or something to hold the post there is another means, so I avoid the cracked area?

You will need to tell us what it is you are trying to achieve not just 'I need to put a bolt in this position'. Anything screwed in in that location so close to the edge in an old weathered brick wall is destined to fail.

Sponsored Links
I want to fix a 75 x 75 wooden post to the side of the patio (where I have cut the slab acknowledge is where the post will be positioned).

The post will then be used to support some 1.2m fencing that will run along the top of the patio.

I will fit a total of 4 posts along the patio.