Novice electrician, training, and regulations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I'm a professional plumber with a problem. I have an established customer base and people keep asking me to do minor electrical work.

Plumbers usually turn down electrical work without even blinking, but I'm proficient at small jobs and I understand and follow safety precautions. I've gotten into the habit of taking on some small jobs, believing that I'm mitigating all risks and staying within the law. It was easier to believe this before 1st Jan 2005, and I'm not so sure anymore.

Can anyone help me understand the minefield of regulations, and also give some advice on what I would need to do in order to undertake more electrical work? Specific questions are as follows;

1. What am I prohibited from undertaking on my own property as a private individual?

2. What am I prohibited from undertaking on customers' properties, given that I have no electrical qualifications at all?

3. Which specific laws and regulations define the above prohibitions?

4. What training must I have undertaken and/or accredication must I hold in order to adhere to those laws and regulations?

5. Where the work is classed is prohibited, is it the actual work that an unqualified person must not carry out, or is it the testing of the work, or both?

If there's another forum posting that has already answered all of these then I apologise - if you could point me in the right direction then I'll happily follow.

Thanks.
bob

Sponsored Links
basically you cant do any electrical work in a property .. all electrical work has to certified AND TESTED.!!!!!

minor work comprises of alterations only .. adding a sw fuse spur etc to a existing circuit.. or extending from a final ring etc.... fro this minmum competence is a domestic installer cert/ela cert/16th edition cert. to prove competance ..

anything else needs a domestic instalation cert