Odd lighting wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I friend just moved into a new place and noticed the toilet light was on (ever so slightly) even when the light was off. Turned on it would be bright as normal, turned off it would be ever so faintly on.

I had a look and took the attached photo.

I'm not an electrician so not 100% sure so thought I would ask here - But is that an earth going into switched live? I assume that is the issue but don't want to touch anything and would like to just call her landlord to give him a drilling if it is wired incorrectly.

I assume the earth should be terminated together with a wago connector? The cover is metal but I can't see anywhere to terminate earth to it. It looks so old, could it pre-date that kind of thing? Should the whole thing just be replaced?!

Attachments

• PXL_20220829_112433110.jpg
    PXL_20220829_112433110.jpg
    114.4 KB · Views: 96
Sponsored Links
Looks to me like 3 earths sleeved together into earth terminal. Yellow from the red, yellow, blue goes into the switched live of the rose.

I friend just moved into a new place and noticed the toilet light was on (ever so slightly) even when the light was off. Turned on it would be bright as normal, turned off it would be ever so faintly on.
That happens with LED lights.
It can be stopped with a capacitor if you are bothered.

But is that an earth going into switched live?
Don't think so. It is yellow, isn't it? Not green and yellow.

I assume the earth should be terminated together with a wago connector?
Why? All the earth wires are in the rose connector earth terminal.

The cover is metal but I can't see anywhere to terminate earth to it. It looks so old, could it pre-date that kind of thing? Should the whole thing just be replaced?!
The connector block middle connector should be connected to a metal tab on the light if required.