Ok, lets have it ..... are you a tool snob?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Do you buy a hammer to hit nails or hang off your tool belt on display?

Do you buy a Dewalt to drill holes, or hold it to display the label to your mates?

Do you throw all your tools in a communal box and leave them dirty, or do you carry 10 cases - with the name facing outwards, and polish the tools so the name can be seen glowing for miles?

Do you change your tools more often then your pants as new designs come out, or do you work them like a pit donkey untill they fall apart?

Do you wear that free "Makita 72v Uranuim Cordless" tee-shirt or use it to clean your dashboard?

Does your Lexus GT-E saw really cut better than my Skoda 1.3L - is it the name badge or the blade that does it?

Feel free to confess ..... you will feel better for it :evil:

Sponsored Links
most of my tools have to work in all weathers, and mud as im a landscaper. I dont like wasting money on crap that breaks and has to be thrown away. I like to go for tried and tested and ones with a decent warranty that can do the job. I made a concious decision that i would invest money in decent tools to do the job and do it quicker. Nothing stays shiney in my toolkit, normally smeared with dry mud!

I don't bother with Estwings as i've had 3 of them fail in one way or another, whereas my £7 clone is going great guns years on. For nips its worth spending the few pound on Nippex, they just are the best. For saws we never have to buy them ourselves in the shuttering side, but the Makita 5903 is the reliable workhorse.. all the others break or annoy you in some way a lot quicker i find. I used to think it was worth spending more for the Stanley tape.. but they don't seem to make them as well as they used to.. rust a lot quicker now. Therefore.. a snob if its worth it, otherwise its function over fashion!