Opening up a fireplace for Inset Woodburner

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I currently have an working open fireplace which I'm looking to upgrade to accept an Inset woodburning stove ( less mess, more efficient ).
The reason why i'm opting for an inset stove is that I shouldn't need to install a flue liner which would significantly add to the cost of the project.

The fireplace is a standard 600 x 400mm opening with a concrete fireback installed. Because of the tapered profile of the fireback, it will need to be removed to accept the woodburner.

Once the fireback is removed, would I need to line the exposed brickwork before installing the woodburner, or could I leave it as-is?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert at all, but I'm a little confused as to why you have the idea that a stove being inset would make a difference to the need for a flue liner.

Stephen,

Inset stoves are designed to work with or without a chimney liner. They don't need flue liners if the chimney is in good condition and doesn't leak fumes into the house.

Stephen,

Inset stoves are designed to work with or without a chimney liner. They don't need flue liners if the chimney is in good condition and doesn't leak fumes into the house.
I live and learn, cheers, Stephen

Sponsored Links
Terry,

After reading the all the spiel online, with an Inset stove there is a choice depending on the condition of the existing chimney and on whether it passes the smoke & draw tests, in which case it is a recommendation rather than mandatory.
Many Inset stoves are designed specifically to fit inside the existing chair brick and which marry up with the throat of the chimney.

Last edited:
Terry,

After reading the all the spiel online, with an Inset stove there is a choice depending on the condition of the existing chimney and on whether it passes the smoke & draw tests.