Woodburning stove:freestanding versus inset

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to replace two open fires with woodburning stoves. It will cost between €800 and €2000 to get the fireplaces adapted ( enlarge the recesses) to accomodate the stoves.

I also want to line the recesses with skamolex fireboard and will have to get some infill hearth pieces which would cost another €500 approx. on top of this.

The other option is to fit inset (or insert / cassette) stoves which would not require increasing the opening sizes.

Does anyone know if an inset is as effective as a freestanding stove and are they more expensive?

The house is difficult to heat and I want to use them to heat the entire ground floor by leaving the room doors open.

One concern with an inset is heatloss through the sides and back as both fireplaces are on external walls.

Any other comments would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
I am not an expert on woodburners but my quess would have to be;

Most the heat from an inset goes up the chimney and can only radiate heat from the exposed front.
A free standing one can get hot and radiate and convect heat into the room from all its surfaces.

It’s also about what look you want; I have a multi-fuel Riva cassette (very modern) & whilst I agree they probably won’t radiate as much heat as a free standing, they are still very efficient when compared to an open fire & older stoves. Our stove also utilises heat convection & is streets ahead of our previous open fire, both in terms of rated output (8kw) & fuel efficiency (this year I’ve so far used only around 35% of the fuel I used last year). It also has an optional fan kit which will utilise convected heat even further to increase efficiency.