Opinions needed after communication issue with new doors

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

This is my first post, I'm after some opinions please.

I'm renovating a property at the moment, it's my first time. Last week I had new windows, a front door and french doors fitted. There are a bunch of issues with the windows and doors, which I've raised to the company we used. They are addressing some, but here's one they are unlikely to budge on unless we pay for it:

The new front door and french doors have a low profile threshold, which sits just a couple of centimetres above the concrete floor:

IMG_2511.jpg

This is far lower than the previous patio door and front door that had been replaced.

We wanted to install underfloor heating, which will require about 3-4cm off the concrete floor once it's all finished. So as it stands, with the doors we have installed, the underfloor heating is not possible because the screed would go over the top of the door threshold.

I wasn't aware that we had ordered low-profile thresholds, and nor did I understand this was even an option. The company we purchased from insist we should have communicated that we wanted standard height thresholds or that we should have told them we were planning on installing underfloor heating.

From my point of view, I didn't know this would be an issue. As they are selling me this product, I think they should have been clear what they were selling rather than waiting until it was installed to find out that there was an issue. They have just assumed that we wanted a low profile threshold. Not once did they ask, but they are insisting this is my fault.

So, who is at fault? Is this on the window company or is this on me?

Your opinions are welcome, even if you do blame me, I want to know!

Sponsored Links
It is usually better practice to install low threshold on patio door openings to reduce chances of trip hazards.