outside wiring to garage *VIDEO*

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by boolie, 28 Nov 2021.

  1. boolie

    boolie

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is the outside wiring to the garage which I'm not impressed with to be honest. However, I don't know if this is acceptable as per current standards. So, it's on a 15A fuse running from the CU to the garage. It supplies the garage where there is one double socket and one light (see vid 2)

    1. Is this wiring and fuse rating acceptable as per current standards?
    2. How would you wire it ideally if you were doing it now (without digging a trench; i.e. keep it on the wall. conduit? steel cable? , etc, etc)
    3. Is there any regulation that says a cable cannot run alongside a gas pipe? I have the floorborads lifted inside and can see a nice route to where the gas pipe leaves the building. That way most of the run would be inside
    4. Referring to the second vid (inside the garage). Whats that first switch? do you recognise it? looks like a fused spur to me. Is that acceptable? shouldn't the garage have it's own CU?



    Btw the keen eyed among you may have noticed the bonding cable on the gas pipe. There was a note in the gas meter chamber about this (see pics). Seems like a simple fix though - I'll just move the bonding to the inside of the house - before the pipe exits the building.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 28 Nov 2021
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Sureitsoff?

    Sureitsoff?

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    827
    Thanks Received:
    138
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    T&E not really suitale for outside use. where is the cable fed from? switch looks like a light switch. more questions than answers on this one
     
  4. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,829
    Thanks Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Bonding:

    The regulations state the bonding must be "at the point" of entry 'where practicable' - so obviously "at the point of entry" applies both to inside and outside.
    The pictures you show only apply when the meter is inside - although actually they are wrong - the bonding to achieve its desired aim should be on the pipe that enters the premises.

    So, it is fine - assuming it is done correctly.
     
  5. boolie

    boolie

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what's the most suitable cable then?

    where is the cable fed from? So, it's on a 15A fuse running from the CU to the garage. The CU is in the house.
    switch looks like a light switch lol really? are you sure you're looking at the right switch. It looks like a switched fused spur to me. Look at vid 2 a bit more closely!
     
  6. boolie

    boolie

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The pictures you show only apply when the meter is inside - no they don't. Look at picture two more closely. There are two diagrams on it; one is for when the meter is inside, the other when the meter is outside
     
  7. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,111
    Thanks Received:
    2,039
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Black HO7 flex, or install the cable in conduit so it's not directly exposed to sunlight.

    Is there an RCD on the circuit?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. boolie

    boolie

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes and no.. at the moment it's an old wylex fuseboard see thread
    Soon it will be a Hager VML 114 with RCBO's - I'm just planning for it
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,829
    Thanks Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok. The one showing the meter inside does and is, as I said, electrically wrong.

    Ok. It is also wrong. Position 1 is perfectly acceptable.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. boolie

    boolie

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The SIEMENS diagram also says that position 1 is perfectly acceptable. Just not Preferred. The problem with my setup is that it is not Position 1. Position 1 is where the bonding is inside the meter box.

    My set up is that the gas pipe travels externally outside the meter box - then enters the property. I think the siemens document is saying in that situation the bonding should be inside the property (or inside the meter box as a secondary preference)/. The easiest thing for me would be inside the property. I'm thinking they are basically protecting it from the elements?
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,829
    Thanks Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Or just on the outside of the wall.

    Then you are mistaken.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,111
    Thanks Received:
    2,039
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Gas bonding should be connected at or near the position it enters the property. That can be inside or outside. If outside, the clamp needs to be suitable for use outside.
    600mm is a recommendation, not a requirement.

    Gas persons are often clueless about what is actually required, and there are plenty of examples of supposedly 'official' documents and labels which are wrong.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. boolie

    boolie

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So why do you reckon someone dropped that inside the gas meter box? I assume it's from the meter company?
    @flameport - pardon my french.. but you know your sh*t. What is your reading of this. Not that I'm judging your competence @EFLImpudence

    EDIT - @flameport replied and confirmed @EFLImpudence's understanding
    bonding-2.jpg
     
  15. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,111
    Thanks Received:
    2,039
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was put there because meter installers have a checklist of things they need to see, and if they can't see those, they must leave a label, notice or whatever else.
    There was no understanding or consideration of what might be required for your particular installation. Just a checklist of 'yes/no' items.

    This is what's actually required:

    544.1.2.png

    Within 600mm from the meter outlet where practicable and where the meter is inside.

    If the meter is outside, it's at the point of entry to the building or as near as practicable, which can be inside or outside.

    The connection must be accessible, which is why it's often easier to put it outside.
    The point it enters the property may be concealed behind kitchen units, boxed in or similar.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  16. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,342
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The first switch is a FCU. Better to put the FCU where the second switch is and use it as your light switch.

    There is no requirement for a garage to have its own CU when the lighting is via a FCU.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  17. boolie

    boolie

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm thinking the intention of the FCU is to act as a isolator for the garage by the looks of it. So it branches off to the light and the double socket. You switch the FCU off and everything in the garage switches off

    EDIT - actually not sure the FCU controls the socket. I haven't checked. could well be wrong on that assumption (and probably am!)
     
    Last edited: 28 Nov 2021
Loading...

Share This Page