Painting a front door

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Team(!),

I'm looking for some benefit vs. risk advice for the repainting of a wooden front door (it's currently a varnished wood, so unpainted).

I've bought some Sandtex Pillar Box Red gloss on a whim.

I figured that I could remove the door furniture, I could sand it down, then paint it!

Idiot, right?

What's my proper procedure for doing this? I assume my first 2 steps were OK - but then I will need to prime it as an intermediate step - and then I may need 2 coats of the Pillar Box Red? Should I re-sand between primer and gloss?

Any recommendations for a good primer? Also... if I'm going to paint it red, should I colour the primer red as well? Does that really help?

Should I lay the gloss on thick, or try and do it as thinly as I possibly can? Should I use a mini roller (foam) or is it best being brush all the way?

Any advice really appreciated - as I've never done this before.

Sponsored Links
You prime the wood to seal it, and then rub it down, then you use an undercoat which you rub down, then at least 2 coats of top coat. If you use an acrylic pimer and undercoat, then you'll still need 2 coats of that before the top coat.

As to brush or roller, that'll just depend on your skills, and the finish you want.

Sponsored Links
A number of people on this forum have had terrible problems with Sandtex gloss, always on front doors.

People have commented on the paint wrinkling up.

If you search on the forum 'sandtex gloss door' you should find some comments.

Having read some of these you won't catch me doing a door with Sandtex.

I don't know if the problems were more to do with the user rather than the product, but I wouldn't want you to get into a horrible mess.

You prime the wood to seal it, and then rub it down, then you use an undercoat which you rub down, then at least 2 coats of top coat. If you use an acrylic pimer and undercoat, then you'll still need 2 coats of that before the top coat.