Painting,coving, skirting, cutting in - help before starting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
morning all,

At the weekend i plan to finally get cracking with the spare room full redec, which has already been replastered (16 days ago) has dried nicely and has had coving put up.

So before i get cracking, i just wanted to DOUBLE DOUBLE check that ive got things right before i end up with a DIY disaster and bodge it up, so any help much appreciated (i am a complete beginner, so please forgive me if this is obvious):

1) im buying primed MDF skirting - i intend to gloss it first before attaching to walls - is this correct or should i gloss once fitted? (theres no carpet down at the moment). Plus can i just go ahead and gloss straight on or does it need some sort of undercoat before i gloss it? im getting 3.6m length from b and q and dont want joins by getting 2.4m lengths.

2) ive got a tin of white matt emulsion - i intend to use this to apply a mist coat. now do i need just 1 coat? and also whats the need for 'cutting in' around doors, frames and in the corners and down joins? is this really needed? and does this need to fully dry before i get the roller on it to apply the rest of the walls mist coat?

3) with regards to watering down the paint to apply a mist coat, how EXACTLY do i do this as most people seem to water down by 25-30%. do i just buy a paint tub, pour a measured quantity of paint and then measure out the water and pour and stir?

4) coving has been fitted - do i need to apply a mist coat or undercoat to this or can i just apply white emulsion straight on?

any help much appreciated. just didnt want to make a mess of it and not do my homework.
:oops:
thanks,

Sponsored Links
No harm in TRIPLE TRIPLE checking, in my eyes! ;)