part P courses - what can full qualified electricians do

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

Im looking into doing a part P course. Im a qualfied gas installer and regulary rely on an elctrician to put fuse spurs in for me

anyway, I know its not ideal but i need quite a quick turn around on this as im self employed so the quicker I do it, the quicker i can save money.

I will be looking at doing a part time college course to do the full works but until such time, this will have to do

what I want to know is what can fully qualified electricians do that part p installers cant?? also, whats the differance between the part p defind scope and full scope

thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
what I want to know is what can fully qualified electricians do that part p installers cant??
It's not a question of qualifications (sore point to many).
It's whether you are registered with a competent person scheme and can self-certify
(fees and annual assessment and cheap notification)

or pay the LABC for notifiable work before you start each job.
(two or three of which will equal the annual scheme fee)

Of course, either way you will need insurance and relevant testing equipment.

Google Elecsa, Napit or NICEIC.

also, whats the differance between the part p defind scope and full scope
Will have to wait for someone else. I am not sure what the limitations of defined scope are.

whats the differance between the part p defind scope and full scope
Defined scheme limits you to electrical work which forms part of your normal work - as defined by Napit

Defined Scope – installation of fixed low or extra-low
voltage electrical installations as a necessary adjunct
to or arising out of other work being carried out by the
registered person

Qualifications you will need:
1. Basic electrical competence
This qualification must include the elements of testing and inspection relevant to defined scope work.