Part P for England and Wales - what about DIY in Scotland ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello folks as this is the Electrics UK discussion forum and Scotland is part of the UK i thought this was as good a place as any to ask a question.

I would like to get my old House consumer unit replaced with a more modern and safer unit, as mine has re-wirable fuses and no RCD or MCB's fitted. At the same time I would like to get some power installed in my newish garden shed, which is situated about 3 meters away from the house, ( and the electrical 'service area' of my house).

There seems to be lots and lots of info on the web regarding the fairly new Part P building regs for England and Wales, but I've not been quite so lucky in finding out exactly the scope of what the home DIYer can and can't do in Scotland.
Has anybody got any good links or can offer advice.

I am not a domestic electrician by the way, however i am a fully Qualified ( and practising ) commercial aircraft electrician/technician and so all of the basic principles are not unknown to me -i had to struggle though my lecky exams too :) .

any advice gratefully appreciated.

Sponsored Links
[url=http://www.fife.gov.uk/atoz/index.cfm?fuseaction=service.display&objectid=BB39E19B-1240-4C7B-8C66D0E9435BB168]Fife Council[/url] said:
Unauthorised Building Works: SERVICE A

Unauthorised building work is the construction, alteration, demolition or change of use of a building without obtaining a Building Warrant from the Council. If you are unsure as to whether Building Warrant Approval was required for completed work, please contact your Building Control Area Office for further advice.

I've finally manged to get through to somebody in my local council Building Standards & Safety office, (formerly Building Control). I told him of the work that i wanted to get done , namely replacing and upgrading my existing main C.U. for a more modern and safer unit, and also getting power out to a Garden shed.