Pat testing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Started a new job and I may be doing Pat testing. Please could you recommend a book or CD so I can get up to speed be for I go to a college course. I have basic electrical knowledge and have passed my 17th edition last year. thanks

Sponsored Links
Thanks did search and seen so many books with both good and bad reviews at varied prices. This forum offers the best advice

The big issue with "Inspection and testing of in service electrical equipment" is knowing your own limitations. The IET (was IEE) do a book of that name and it is the bible as far as how to do the job. Likely you will need to buy that book before taking the exam.

In service electrical equipment is split into a number of sub groups like "Hand Held", "Portable", "Movable equipment", "Stationary equipment", "Fixed equipment", "equipment for building in", and "Information technology equipment (business equipment)". Great for the book but not really any good to work out what you have to test what we really need is to split it into three groups.

Equipment which only needs a visual inspection.

Equipment which you can test with a PAT tester.

Equipment which needs to be part dismantled to test or has some other reason why you should not use a PAT testing machine.

The 18 kg limit which defines what is portable and what is not does not really make any difference to if one can test it or not.

The main problem is temperature switches and timers which can stop one from testing all functions. However it has to be considered with for example a frost free freezer does one test the easy bit as that's better than no testing or does one say I can't test the de-frost heater without dismantling so I'm not testing it?

I had an issue with hired vending machines where my boss wanted me to test them but I had no keys to be able to fully test. After some discussion it was agreed it was up to the hire company to test them.