PATCHING ??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i have been plastering on the side now for about 18 months. i have plastered many different walls and ceiling but funnily enough i have not yet patched a ceiling.

i have a customer who had a leak in his ceiling so he got it sorted and but a piece of plasterboard over the hole. he wants the board plastered level with the existing ceiling so he can paint, but he doesnt want the whole ceiling plastered.

so how do i do this? do i skimm the board level with multi then what do i do with the outline? how do you blend in the outline and prevent it from cracking but also make the joints invisible when painted? easyfill?

i have never had to use easyfill before?

i am only an amateur and do not take on jobs that i know i will struggle with.

thank you in advance guys.

Sponsored Links
Id fill the hole with bonding leaving it a bit shy of level, then go over with multi finish,srcape back the excess plaster around the edge of the hole, then spray with a mister and fether out the edges with the trowel once the plaster has picked up a bit. nothing you can do about it cracking,but it should be fine.

nothing you can do about it cracking,but it should be fine.

Might be possible to add scrim tape after the Bonding is applied.
Even though not quite on the same level, the tape would help strengthen the joint. The feathering in of the multi outside the joint should hide the square mesh from the scrim, it's only thin stuff.

Sponsored Links
Id fill the hole with bonding leaving it a bit shy of level, then go over with multi finish,srcape back the excess plaster around the edge of the hole, then spray with a mister and fether out the edges with the trowel once the plaster has picked up a bit. nothing you can do about it cracking,but it should be fine.