Permitted Development

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there

I am a journalist with the Mail on Sunday looking into Permitted Development and how the rights affect extensions. Specifically, I'm interested in how the rules have stripped local authorities of any real power. I have spoken to several planning officers who complain that eyesore extensions (that are sometimes dangerous) have appeared across the country because of the relaxed rules.

I wondered if anyone has had any experience of this around where they live?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Jonathan

Sponsored Links
I'm not sure they could be dangerous -all types of extension are subject to the same building regulations.

I expect you are interested in the larger permitted development scheme allowing up to 8m on the rear of a detached house -although these require a neighbour consultation.

I'm not sure they could be dangerous -all types of extension are subject to the same building regulations.

Not necessarily, they could call it a "conservatory" even though it has no glass in the roof and it would be exempt from the Building Regulations (not 8 metres deep though) thanks to the genius who decided it would be a good idea to remove the definition of conservatory from the regulations.

I would have thought the Planning Officers would be the best source of examples as they see all the applications but if the neighbour's do not object they are powerless to act. Plus they hate the new permitted development rules so should be only too happy to provide evidence of why it is an ill thought out politically motivated piece of legislation. As for the current consultation document regarding making these permitted development rules permanent, it just goes to show how bloody incompetent our politicians and civil servants are.

Sponsored Links
Google 'worst permitted development loopholes' and download the PDF!