Phase Rotation??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, can anyone tell me how to explain Phase Rotation.....what it means & how it works??

Sponsored Links
Cheers Taylor, Ive googled it but I was looking for a simple explanation from an experienced sparky,I have an interview for a permit to work next week & one of the questions is on phase rotation, I'm just looking to memorize a simple answer, any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Take a pill holm, its the simplified wording im looking for not the overall understanding, ive already sat 5 exams & 3 practicals to get to this point...i'm a gas engineer who's being put thru an intense course which allows me to work on electric meters, cheers for the concern though :rolleyes:

the generator spins one way and makes 3 phase..
to get the motors to spin the same way the 3 phases have to be the same way..
to get it to go backwards, the 3 phases have to go backwards..

I will try to explain.
If the phases are connected brown to U1, black to U2, and grey to U3 the motor will rotate in one direction swapping any two so for example brown to U1, Black to U3, and grey to U2 will reverse the direction.

We use a phase rotation meter which is a very slow revving motor so we can see which direction the phases are rotating.

However using the meter can land one with a problem as they seem to be rare items and often electricians don't check the sockets they install.

We had a problem with concrete placing booms in Sizewell 'B' Power Station and it can easy spread throughout a site. One cable was laid wrong way around so the at that time red, yellow, blue did not match and twisting the cores in a cable joint would not be small enough for the shells to fit. So the phases were reversed. This was not a problem to start with as next joint swapped them back. However it was shortened removing second joint.