Planning Help - care home being built at end of garden

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

After many years saving up, myself and my fiancé have just (August) bought our first house. It is perfect, but nothing grand and we bought it as we loved to country feel, the views and the south facing garden.

We are now slightly concerned as a planning application for a 3 storey care home has been made for the unused land at the end of our garden. I fear that it is going to cast a shadow over our property as well as making our property overlooked by many flats.

I'm no expert but I want to object but need to make sure that it is done in the right way.

If you would like to see the plans they can be seen here:

http://wam.n-somerset.gov.uk/MULTIW...er=16/p/2433/o&appType=planning&action=Search

Any thoughts?

We feel extremely privelidged about having our first house, but fear that it will not only affect our day to day life, and also reduce the price of our house.

Many thanks,

Oli

Sponsored Links
I'm not sure the overlooking argument will be valid. it looks like its set back enough and low enough.

Concentrate on the impact to the area, not on just your own place. You need to get together with other residents there.
Property value is not a planning issue, and you need to explain exactly how this will impact your life - I can't think of many valid things if it was my house. Real impact though, not just things you might not like.

There does not seem to be a lot of parking provision though. That's a planning issue.

Many thanks for your reply.

What I am unsure about is the height of the building as this may cast a shadow.

I believe that we can still object due to right to light?

Do you think it looks fairly sound planning? The parking is obviously an issues, as parking around us is already very hard.

Looking at the plan, do you think it would affect our view? Impact on the garden?

Thanks again.

Oli

Sponsored Links