Planning permission/Building Control

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, i'm new to this and just required some clarification.

Planning to replace an old conservatory at the back of my house with an extension for which i will probably need planning permission (£135?).

I seem to recall previously that when i submit this fee, i also pay in advance for the building regs (£450ish??). My question is, if the permission is denied (which they seem to think won't be the case), would my building regs fee be refunded?

I have tried to speak with my local offices, but they are hard work!!

Many Thanks

Sponsored Links
Don't make a BRegs submission until you have planning appro (if required). Fees are not usually refundable.

The 2 are completely separate, get you PP first & then make your BR submission. There are 2 methods; Full plans application where you set out everything in advance including submission of full specifications & drawings or the more usual & straight forward for smaller works, a Building Notice application.

If you visit the design portal;

http://www.planningportal.gov.uk/uploads/odpm/4000000011249.pdf

you can download the forms you need & there is a useful explanation document available which fully explains both processes.

Have you checked that the extension can't be done under permited development - if so no formal planning app is required.

For building regs, if you are submitting plans, you pay the plan checking fee when you submitt the plans (about £130) and then when you start work you get invoiced for the site inspection fee - amount depends on floor area.

If you are submitting a building notice (no plans required), then you pay it all at once when you give the 48hours notice of intention to start work.

Normally, you would submit the planning application and then speak to the case officer after about five weeks to see if there are any issues, and then if not submit the b/regs application.