Plasterboarding Advice Please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am a DIY Novice my husband has only a little bit more knowledge than me and I was hoping that you guys would please be able to give me some advice.

We have stripped back our dining room to bare brick including taking the ceiling down and I understand from the forum posts that we need to PVA the wall before we dot and dab the plasterboard onto the wall with dry wall adhesive sounds simple enough. :)

My problem or should i say lack of knowledge arises here...

We have a large window that we need to go around - we plan to only tape and fill the gaps and therefore paint straight onto the plasterboard with no plastercoat therefore the metal beading thing I wouldn't be able to use around the window and the external corners on our chimney breast - any ideas what we would need to do here please. Also what is the best way to do around the window.

Also the chimney breast doesnt have a fire and have no plans to put one here. The other question I have if the plasterboard isnt skimmed over will the heat from the radiator destroy it in time?

Ideally I would've liked to pay someone to do it for me however we are in tough economic times and would really like to have my family round for christmas dinner so this is our only option.

Any help and advice you guys could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Sponsored Links
You need paper tape with metal strips in it for the corners, the plasterboards will be fine with the rad against it. make sure you have no damp as it will come through the dabs. I did a post on explaining tape and jointing somewhere, I will see if I can dig it out for you

You need paper tape with metal strips in it for the corners, the plasterboards will be fine with the rad against it. make sure you have no damp as it will come through the dabs. I did a post on explaining tape and jointing somewhere, I will see if I can dig it out for you