Plastering Course

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone recommend a weekend course?

I am a complete beginner but as most of my house needs plastering and I can't afford to pay a professional a course sounds like a good idea.

Will a weekend be enough for a complete beginner to them go home and start plastering?

Sponsored Links
I did a weekend plastering course just outside London (Romford) - www.goldtrowel.org - and have so far reskimmed the bedroom, including the ceiling. Ok Brist is probably right - you can tell it was me and not a pro, but I was totally surprised how good I got it. The girlfriend who is quite particular about these things is delighted, and it wowed a couple of mates to the extent that they're currently trying to convince me to help them do theirs!!!

The weekend itself was great and I learnt loads - thoroughly recommended. If you want any more info don't hesitate.

I did one of these courses about 3 years ago altho it was a weeks long, i just learnt the basics and the rest comes down to practice and gaining some experience, i teamed up with a guy who'd been plastering for 15 yrs and by helping him and watching i improved my standard and speed. i took on small jobs to start with and have gradually got more ambitious but even now im still very choosy as to what i will attempt. Perhaps not a good idea to attemt too much too soon.

Sponsored Links
Multifinish,