Plastering disaster help please!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I really hope someone may be able to help. My bathroom ceiling was a bit of a mess so I got some advice from a handyman friend about what I could do.

He suggested sanding it down and getting off all the bits of flaking paint and bits of artex that were still on it. Then using pva followed by some of the ready made skim and fill stuff. So I followed his instructions and have ended up with a ceiling that is a complete mess, it is incredibly lumpy and uneven and I have no idea what to do next. Tried sanding it with not a lot of luck.

Any advice as to how to fix this? Bearing in mind I have no experience with plastering and am clearly terrible at it. I cant afford a professional but really need to fix it

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
I tried plaster myself after the new windows and I ended up struggling due to the varying suction of the new/old plaster. Edit: actually I struggled anyway, but I blame the surfaces:LOL:
However after ending up with a bumpy surface I got whatever screwfix sells as cheap poly filler and filled in all the imperfections.
It's still nowhere near professional, but it's OK.

Your extra issue is that it's the ceiling where the light is, you may need to change the light fitting to one that makes it less obvious.

Good luck!

Thanks for the advice, I may need buckets of the stuff to be honest but I may give that a go!

Can I ask, did you sand the cieling first, and if so did you do it by hand or with an electric sander? I tried sanding by hand but have avoided the electric one so far as I don't want to make it even worse.

To be honest I didn't sand at all, I just kept spraying it and flattening it. I did overpolish a couple of bits by mistake though.
But the holes are the problem that's hard to repair for me at the time, but easy after.