Plastering inside window reveals

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
To all the experienced spreads -

Any tips on skimming the insides of window reveals. I have been DIY'ing plastering for about 10 years now and i've reached a point where I can get a typical sized bedroom skimmed in a day including the lid and to a decent enough finish. I'm not claiming to be fast, but really enjoy it. Mostly self taught - did a few courses here and there over the years and lots of youtube videos.

BUT - try as I might, I can never get a nice flat finish on window reveals. I can get it smooth and blemish free, but I always end up with small humps and ripples in the finish. I have tried pre-filling the beads at the start of the day but this doesn't really help with this particular issue. I have no problem with filling the beads out, its just the overall plane that i struggle with. If I trowel from the back (of the side reveal) to the front (vertical trowel) I get a hollow in the middle, if I trowel from top to bottom (horizontal trowel) I get ripples - the trowel can run up the bead at the front of the reveal, but as there is nothing for the trowel to run up against at the back of the reveal, I get a crappy finish.

Any tips? RoughCaster, Stevethespreader???? Any others

Cheers

Sponsored Links
I read the reveal gauge thread but can't get my head around it. I've tried Google images and youtube but there's very little info out there about skimming/plastering the reveals.

Can u try n explain the gauge stick?

Thanks again

Sponsored Links