Plastering onto brick with lime plaster.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All, I am a newbie so first of all thanks for accepting me into the group.

I have lived for the past 28 years in a timber framed house with studded dry lined walls that was very easy to look after with regular maintenance. Any way We have always wanted an older property with character and have bought and moved into a 1908 built terraced house.

I was thinking that I would get the walls skimmed but on removing the paper in the front room big holes started appearing in the plaster exposing the brick below. Huge areas had blown away from the brick so I pulled them away. There is some very nice and original coving at the top of the walls/ceiling which we really want to keep. Luckily the plaster seems to be sound at the top foot or so so it has stayed in place.

I have attached some pics. The previous owners had closed off the original chimney which was across the corner of the room and fitted a fire surround and electric fire on another wall with tiles stuck to the wall. Suffice to say that removing these tiles brought the plaster off as well.

Anyway, my question is for any advice on the best way to proceed with the walls. Would I be able to have them done with modern plaster and them have the whole walls skimmed. As the existing plaster is about 22mm thick would a plasterer be able to do this or should I attach plasterboard to the brick before
album-72157686990863305
album-72157686990863305
album-72157686990863305
album-72157686990863305
getting a plasterer to fill and skim. Any advice would be appreciated as I fear that stripping paper in other rooms will reveal similiar problems and whilst we have a budget for getting the house into good repair I am concerned that we may use it up very quickly if we are not careful.

Thanks in advance for any advice/help.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links