Plastering repair over dirty uneven brick

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I'm new to the forum and hoping for a bit of advice before being able to share my experiences of refreshing our house.

We just bought our first home before Christmas and the time has come for my first DIY. I have some old experience of the building trade pre-2008 but more on the design side than build!

I've pulled of some skirting in one of the bedrooms (as planning to lay chipboard over the joists for carpet). It appears that the skirts have been on for decades and new plastering above was done without removing them.

On removing the skirting all the old (anywhere from 50-100 years old) plaster has come loose and I have removed it.

The issue is that behind the skirting is a very uneven and dirty brick wall (one piece has a 10x30mm ish piece of wood protruding about 6mm). I'm concerned that the depth is too uneven and shallow for a plasterboard patch and the brick is too dirty to plaster on.

Any advice? I can photograph tonight if that would help?

I just want to have something secure to fix the new skirting into one the new floor is down and we may opt for skirting which isnt as high as before.

Many thanks for any advice.

Sponsored Links
You can brush PVA on the bricks to seal them then use plasterboard adhesive like dot and dab to fix the skirting, with screws to hold it in place. Use the same addy to fill any gaps above then sand back and paint.

Thanks for the reply Joe. I think I need to plaster behind the skirt though to bring it level with the rest of the wall?

If you see the attached photo View media item 58037
On the right hand side the depth is about 25mm and on the left the depth is 10mm. Could I plaster to that thickness using more than one coat?

Cheers

Plasterboard addy is very cheap and will do all that sort of stuff. You can use Bonding if you wish, but PB addy will do all that you want it to.

Sponsored Links