Please help light switches reversed!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Please can anyone help with this problem - Im a complete novice, if that, with electrics and I’m a bit ocd so it bothers me immensely me that the switches have reversed, but the bigger issue is safety of course.

In our bedroom we have the bedroom light switch next to the door - normal. Then on wall behind headboard of bed we each have a further light switch for this same light - again normal. The light fitting is three opaque flowery things which I have a bayonet candle 40w bulb in each. Ever since moved in the bulbs tend to pop when they go and we just replace them. Normally the trip switch downstairs does not trigger and remaining bulbs stay on. Please note this bedroom is part of extended part of house above a garage which also has a light and both connect to same box. All other lights connect to main box in original part of house.

So a bulb went again. Again popped but this time the remaining two lights also went out. I figured the trip switch went off too - it had. So I left it off and replaced the bulb. Went down switched back on and then went up and noticed bedroom light was now on even though the main switch was in the off position! The bed wall switches were in the off position also and only turn off the light when put in the ‘on’ position! Bear with me please. So I cannot interchange any switches so that the light is off and all switches are in proper off position!

Worse I checked the garage light and found it too had reversed! The garage light is controlled only by a single switch. I cannot fathom whats happened here - please please can anyone advise a solution and if any issues that might arise safety wise. We can’t stand them being the wrong way in any event!

Many thanks and kind regards

Sponsored Links
Nothing could have happened to change the switch positions. You must not have taken any notice before.