Please help!! Shower pump only works if lower the head

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'm hoping someone can help or at least point me in the right direction.
I have a plumbase 2.0 bar shower pump fitted in my airing cupboard at bottom. It has a dedicated 22mm cold feed from cold water tank in loft and a 22mm hot water supply fed from a surry flange. It then runs off in 22 mm under the floor boards about 2 meters until it reaches the bathroom where it goes to 15mm and runs up toward the shower mixer. The shower mixer has a fixed head and and smaller movable head. My problem is when I go to use the shower nothing happens unless I move the shower head down or give it a really good shake. Another problem which I'm sure is linked is sometimes when u turn the hot tap on in the kitchen the shower pump will start for about a second and sometime pulse every couple of seconds.
I though this could be air and have removed the heads and runs the water through and have never heard air gurgling and it has never fixed the problem so any help would be much appreciated. Hope ive included enough info! Thanks

Sponsored Links
This is one of those faults where you really need somebody on site to sort it out.

Has it worked ok before? How old is it?

If the fault was from installation it may be you do not have enough static head of water to trigger the flow switches in the pump.

Static head is the distance from the water level in the loft tank to the highest draw off (shower head) the effective head (pressure) of water will also be reduced slightly by any restrictions caused by the pipe run itself.

Check the minimum head required for your pump and compare it with the actual head that you have, if it’s right on the border line, the fact that dropping the outlet and so increasing the static head gets it going, suggests that may be the trouble.