plumber's fear

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I know this isn't a counselling forum but are there any other college based trainee plumbers out there who have little experience or real plumbing situations in people houses who feel anxious and start imagining flooding people's houses every time they are asked to do the simplest of jobs?

A woman asked me to give her a quote to put a washbasin in a toilet today. i declined the job because the kitchen wasn't near enough to run the wastepipe too, I have no experience of drilling holes into cast iron main soilpipes (we are only taught about plastic soilpipes at college) and to get to the soilpipe I would be at the top of a ladder a very long way from the nice safe ground (three storeys up).

Would anyone here readily accept such a job? Would you just drill into the cast iron main soilpipe and attach the plastic basin waste pipe to it (after drilling a hole in the wall? And roughly how much would you charge? She only wanted a cold water tap on the basin.

Sponsored Links
Welcome to the real world! Yes, at college they show you how to do things as they are done today but you get outside and what do find? Houses that were built 100 years ago, damned inconsiderate isn't it. I'm not a plumber so I can't pass on any advice about cast iron pipe apart from recommending to replace the lot with plastic. However, a couple of points, first, take care when working three floors up. Did they teach you about that at college? There are some basic precautions you should take when working with ladders and you should stick to them if you're doing it for a living.