Pointing 110 yr old terrace

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, i recently bought my first home.

I have scaffold going up on monday for a new slateroof to be fitted andwant to utilise this and re-point my brickwork at the same time.

I work as a labourer for a local builder, who advised me to use a 5:1 sand/cement mix with plasticiser (we are getting a frost at night now in north england)

I just finnished repairing the chimney crown with this mix as the pointing.

However, i have been reading online about tips on doing the job since i dont quite trust the builder i work for and want to be sure before doing the main brickwork.

So,

Should i be using lime in the mix or is 5:1 sand/cement fine for a 110 yr old brick cavity house?

If i should be using lime should i remove the pointing from the chimney that i have just done?

I want to get on top of this before the roof is fitted to prevent disturbing the new slate.

thanks for reading

Sponsored Links
I should clarify that the brick is solid and appears to be glazed face brick and the cavities have vent bricks.

I am unsure whether it was built with lime mortar or cement.

The 'mortar' is light in colour and quite tough, except on the chimney stack where it is dried and powdery. The existing pointing is hard and ganular, it is cracking out of the joints in places.

Most houses in the street have been repointed in cement.

I point this out since i read it all depends on whether my house is built with lime already, and whether it needs to breath by default of its design.

Hi

I would be surprised if you had cavity walls in a building that is 110 years old!