Portable lighting for car maintanence

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I am an undergraduate at Nottingham Trent studying Product Design, and I am designing a portable light to aid you when carrying out maintenance on your vehicle in poor lighting conditions.

I am investigating user needs and characteristics.

Please could you share any difficulties you encounter when carrying out maintenance, in terms of space, time, weather, anything any problems you encounter on any type of job.

Also if you can think of any features you would like in the light, and also things that would not be useful to you in a light, maybe you wouldnt need the light to be changed between spot and flood, anything you think of please share with me.

Thankyou very much in advance,

regards,

Tim Peck

Sponsored Links
If you actually manage to designh one you will make a fortune !
Problems incurred over 24 years.
Lamp must be a sealed unit to eliminate a fire hazard
Lamp must be cordless to eliminate a tripping hazard
I guess it would need to be some sort of cross between a flourecent and a torch beam.
The problem is with a flourescent lamp it gives a broad beam that is not focused,a torch beam is too focused. you ne to be able to attatch it to the vehicle but it needs to be smaller than a hand held torch size due to compact spaces you need to get in. We have head torches with both fl and torch beams incorporated in one unit ....swichable between the two..problem as soon as you move you head the beam goes with your movement.ie darkness....maybe a gyroscope would help !!!!!

Is this a different light to the one you posted about in February?

Sponsored Links
Ideally cordless
Magnetic and some sort of crocodile clip....... maybe even a rubber sucker on it for sticking to dashboards etc?
fully adjustable
directable beam....... nothing worse than working on a car with the poxy light shining in your eyes
LED's rather than bulbs which blow