Potterton Prima f Help!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Could anyone help with a little advice? Just moved to a new house and I'm not very good with any of this stuff so here goes:

I have a Potterton Prima F boiler in my kitchen, at the moment my gas central heating nor my hot water is coming on. I have a hot water tank upstairs in a cupboard which seems to working when the heating is switched on.

I have a hercal coil indirect cylinder double feed hot water tank.

Can anyone give advice why:
-I don't have any heating or hot water?
-Which valves on my hot water tank should be open/closed?

any help would be much appreciated,

bjmurp
DSC_0566.JPG

Sponsored Links
Lets see, run off some hot water, does the boiler then fire up? Or does the boiler fire up if you increase the hot water tank thermostat ?

Ok, have you tried to turn up the stat, and how much water did you run off, will need a bit for the tank stat to see it needs the boiler to fire

Sponsored Links
ok i've turned the stat on the boiler up to max and i've got the tap running.....I'm assuming your looking to see if the pilot light come on on the boiler?

Ok. Well with your tank stat at max and cold water running into the hot tank, first idea was the mid position valve might have been your problem. So stop running the hot tap and move the stat back to 60

You need to prove the electrical supply to the boiler. Please don't mess unless you know how.

there is no temp guage on the stat. It's simply 1-6 then max
DSC_0568.JPG

the pilot was switching on and off earlier....now its not coming on at all.

I stupidly messed about with the valves from the hot water tank.

Got the feeling i may have closed something off or opened something that shouldn't be.