Potterton Suprima 80L lockout

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All. I’m an appliance engineer not a gas fitter however I hope someone is able (and willing!) to help/advise. :(

I have a Potterton Suprima 80L boiler which is suffering from intermittent lockout. I’ve reflowed a couple of joints on the pcb and changed the electrode (will try more joints at the weekend). Boiler is in a small, purpose built brick shed on back of extension, alpong with a frost stat.

When I push ‘reset’ the fan starts up, I can hear the relay buzzing then clunking, a faint sparking then either ignite or drop out, as it pleases. It has fired up first time or after, say, third ‘reset’, no obvious pattern. :confused:

It was put in 2 years ago to replace a smaller Glowworm and obviously the pipework was amended to suit the additional rads (heating has never seemed 100% since though perfectly usable. Don't think it was balanced correctly, if at all!).

It’s weird but it seems to regularly ignite automatically for the afternoon/evening but the mornings I’m having to go out and reset it. I did suspect the cold but this morning (Thursday) it was actually milder than yesterday (Wednesday) afternoon here.
Other half seems to think it also always comes on when she switches Prog to ‘on’.

There is a Potterton EP2002 programmer, a 3 port mid-position valve (new - replaced by me earlier this year-different prob-solved), a cylinder with Drayton cylinder stat, a pump with pipe-work running up and down, 11 rads, 3 towel rails.

If anyone has any suggestions (keep em polite!), I’d be grateful.
Cheers.
Regards,

Gary.

Sponsored Links
Hi gaz.

Yep, thanks for that.

I suspect the pcb hence the resoldering as it's a darn sight less expensive than a new one!

So you reckon my (boiler's) symptoms point to the pcb for sure?

Cheers.

All the best.