power to a summer house

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone my first post here, hope you can help.
I have had a quote for adding power to my summer house, I thought this a little expensive at £611. I was not impressed at the electrician he wanted to take the power up the the first floor and then under the floorboards and out and down to the garden etc...

Sounded very long winded to me, I am considering doing the job myself but would like some advice before I decide. Although I am not an electrician I wondered how I stand with building control. Am I allowed to do this, I am happy paying an electrician to do the final wire up and check if needed. Would an electrician tell me where to go if I asked or is this a normal request.

What was in the quote was :
1/. Supply & fit 1x 32amp RCBO to existing Fuseboard.
2/. Supply & fit 4mm three core SWA cable from House to Summerhouse to supply Pond spur, Dual socket & light point with pendant.
3/. NICEIC Certification & Building Control Notification.
This work is expected to take 1 ½ Days.

I thought about using conduit as I just think it will be straighter and a neater finish rather than clipping cable to the fence. If I do use conduit do I still need to use SWA cable. The only thing the quote does not say is the garden is 120 ft long as I know the current drop needs to be taken into account. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Cliff

Sponsored Links
I'd say, if anything, the quote you got is erring on the low side. If you were to get further quotes, which in any case would be a wise idea, you may find that they are higher than the one you already have. That said, you shouldn't choose an electrician based solely on price - if you do not feel confident about his abilities, you should find someone else.