Powermax 155x Hot water but no central heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Hope someone can help. I had a look at a previous thread where someone else had the same problem that I did. Hot water but no central heating. I opened the boiler and thought the central heating pump may have seized or was not working. I loosened the screw on the left hand side pump ( as suggested) and water came out. I tightened it up again as I thought that would fix the problem. Now the boiler wont light up and I have no hot water or central heating. I did hold a pot under the screw when I opened it and about 15mls of water came out. could this be why its not working? if so how do I get the water back into it and the heating to work again? sorry for sounding daft but I'm new to all this and thought that I could fix it myself.
thanks in advance

Neil

Sponsored Links
Yes there is a gauge on the front of the boiler. I thought the pressure was low so I have opened the intake valve to allow more water in. After coming back home today I have noticed that the gauge on the front of the boiler ( think its a pressure valve) has fallen again.

Did you pressurise to about 1.5 bar and did it then work?

I dont think you are going to get very far with your boiler at this rate!

Tony

Sponsored Links
Tony

Pressure went to about 3 bars. Still got hot water but not central heating, the radiators are now Luke warm but still not all are hot. I can feel hot water at the base of the radiator pipes but it just doesn't seem to circulate right into the radiator. Think it might be the pump, have also turned the thermostat up but no change. Does the Powermax have internal thermostats also? Sorry I couldn't stay on to get a reply, keep getting called away!

hi neil
these are not a normal boiler as you know them, you need to get a powermax aware/trained engineer to check them over i look after plenty of these and there are certain things needed to be checked,tread carefully mate