Pre-pay meter woes :(

Looks like it's getting resolved, thanks for the suggestions. Ecotricity are happy to swap the meter back to a normal one if I switch to them and surprise, surprise, EDF changed their minds when I told them and are offering to swap the meter back too.

Not that any of this is relevant to my original post but I'm not a smarmy property developer from London or anything - this is the house I grew up in. I rent it out because it would break my heart to sell it and I can't move back there because there's no work there for an electronics engineer.

I'd be very interested to find out where B-A-S and merlin stay when they go on their holidays? Only in accomodation which would not be suitable for permanent habitation by a 'local'?

Sponsored Links
When I go on holiday I stay in an hotel. As a kid living with my parents, we used a boarding house.

Landlords who sequester local housing for holiday lets force up the price of housing beyond affordability by locals. Nothing illegal in that, of course, but it does not mean that I or others approve the situation.

Anyway I'm pleased that you've got EDF to stop being silly. Just as a matter of interest, will you move supplier or not?

Don't forget that these properties have, presumably, been sold by local people (or Prince Charles - but that's unlikely - he doesn't sell property) for inflated prices to grockels in the first place. That's life.

When I go on holiday I stay in an hotel. As a kid living with my parents, we used a boarding house.

Landlords who sequester local housing for holiday lets force up the price of housing beyond affordability by locals. Nothing illegal in that, of course, but it does not mean that I or others approve the situation.

Any hotel could be converted into low cost flats for "locals", any boarding house could house a large extended family of "locals".