primary meter relocation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i should know this but i don't !! so i'm asking here.
i have MET1 so i am allowed to work on meters, during a kitchen refit i need to reposition meter to suit kitchen alteration, meter and ECV are still in the same unit but by altering the anaconda i can reposition the meter slightly, then repipe outlet in 22mm copper, no prob doing this, but 1st question can you buy longer than normal anacondas to allow alteration by a few inches more than merely rebending the ananconda, (normal one is 400mm long) 2nd question if they are available am i allowed to change original, (as it is owned by gas supplier i am thinking i prob need their permission)

Sponsored Links
if i remember correctly. even with met 1 its only if your OAMI you can acctually play with the meters.

I install meters for a living......when I need to create a few inches from ecv to meter I either stretch anaconda (2 feet on regulator + pull flexi) or i use appropriate fittings ie 1" Slotted Adaptor which slides onto meter bracket then screws onto meter with Regulator screwing onto Adaptor......if you need more extra length then simply use 22 copper pipe from ecv using male,female fitting from ecv onto copper then fittings on end of copper for regulator to screw onto, although you have MET1 I do think you need permission from gas supplier but if your competent and check things over thoroughly who's to know.

cheers Gastel, i had thought about getting fittings to convert to copper but thought inlet had to be on anaconda, i appreciate there are many meters with fixed pipe either side, but if gas supplier attended after we did this work they would know i had changed to copper inlet, can you confirm if inlet must be anaconda or is it preferred.
ta

Sponsored Links
Anaconda is purely to make installation easier and quicker , they can be bought in different lengths from bes ltd. NG have different lengths avialable.