Problem with a bathroom shaver unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. A very basic question from a novice.

I've just moved into a flat which has a bathroom shaver light/socket that doesn't work (light or shaver socket). I'm wondering if the problem is with the unit or the wiring. I've unscrewed it from the wall to take a look behind. Couldn't see any loose wires, but while I was screwing it back the light briefly flashed on, suggesting to me that something is loose.

Even as a novice I'm reluctant to call out an electrician if it's just a question of tightening up a loose connection or replacing the unit with a new one. But before I can proceed any further I need to establish which breaker circuit the unit is on, so I can cut the power. I don't want to switch off both "lights" and "socket" at the same time, as the bathroom has no daylight and I want to be able to see what I'm doing. Any suggestions (besides buying a good torch)?

BTW the unit is a pretty cheap one, one of these: http://www.thelightingsuperstore.co...Bathroom-Lighting/product.asp?productid=40558

Any help would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
It's 99.9999999999999999999999999999999999999% (approx) likely that the thing is on the same circuit as the lights.

And since it is flaky, you can't use it "not lighting up" as an indication that you have got the right breaker. Not that you should anyway - you should always use a 2-pole voltage indicator to check for dead.

But even then, the complication is that as something flaky this way comes, you couldn't be absolutely sure that the tester saying the light is dead means that you have the right circuit.

Unless you can trace the wires you should turn off the entire flat before fiddling.

Is there a fused connection unit, near this light/shaver socket.
If not there is a chance that the bathroom light and shaver socket are part of the same circuit.
To test for voltage do use an approved voltage tester or multi-meter not a neon screwdriver!