Problem with Gledhill Torrent Direct (thermal store)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm a newbie to the world of DIY so forgive me if I'm asking something which has been covered before or is really obvious, but I didn't know where else to turn!

I live in a shared ownership apartment, which when I moved in already had hot water supplied from a -

Gledhill Torrent Direct - an electrically heated, mains pressure hot water thermal store.

From the literature on the website, "It is a combination unit which incorporates a feed and expansion tank and eliminates the problems associated with a cold water cistern in the roof space.

It is supplied complete with two low watts density immersion heaters for extra quiet operation as recommended by the Electricity Council.

'Draw-off' for baths and 'flow' for power showering operate from this one compact unit which means there are more siting options, maximising building design flexibility."

It's powered from what looks to be two seperate switches in my storage cupboard in the hallway, which I have left on since day one of moving in.

Well, towards the end of last year, I suddenly lost my constant supply of hot water, and couldn't get it to work again. To obtain any kind of hot water, I had to use the 'power boost' button located in the kitchen (gives the option of heating the water for 30mins, 1hr or 2 hr) which obviously isn't ideal in terms of cost on the electric.

Anyhow, eventually the housing association sent out a builder as a part of the 12 months defects inspection, and he took a look at the Torrent. He told me there was a 'trip switch' towards the bottom of the main tank body which had popped out due to overheating and that if it ever happened again, I'd need a matchstick or similar just to push it back in to reset the tank.