Propped wallplate??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

i’m currently having an extension completed and wanted to get an opinion on this bit of woodwork. I believe the builder has used some makeshift timberwork in order to achieve the correct wallplate height rather than building up in blockwork.
Does this look acceptable?

The roof only supports felt plus some concrete tiles on hipped section.

thanks

Attachments

• 2CF39DE2-83A3-4A38-AF50-89B513EE303D.jpeg
    2CF39DE2-83A3-4A38-AF50-89B513EE303D.jpeg
    345.3 KB · Views: 216
  • 8526B969-7E04-4370-A4E8-B3BC483076B1.jpeg
    8526B969-7E04-4370-A4E8-B3BC483076B1.jpeg
    422.7 KB · Views: 218
  • D6D18F74-BF8D-4FA5-A9D4-E344ACFF409F.jpeg
    D6D18F74-BF8D-4FA5-A9D4-E344ACFF409F.jpeg
    409.9 KB · Views: 219
Sponsored Links
I just so happen to be at my dads at the moment, he's a retired joiner/foreman/site agent/building contractor, I'm a building control surveyor, to say we both found this more than a little amusing would be quite an understatement!!!
Did your builder arrive on a horse by any chance?
The wallplate isn't your only problem, you're going to get wall spread and a collapsed roof.

Roof spread even if its only holding some felt above?

according to the structural engineer, its ok aslong as adequate support is provided in the voids, through timber or brick infills.

Sponsored Links
Ok, spoke to building inspector, hes said that horizontal joists will need to be put in with vertical supports to give strength under the connection between rafter and top joists.

So in line with what was said by you guys.

I wanted a vaulted ceiling internally, but looks like it will be difficult to achieve that unless i get a cranked rsj in.

Ok, spoke to building inspector, hes said that horizontal joists will need to be put in with vertical supports to give strength under the connection between rafter and top joists.

So in line with what was said by you guys.