1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Putting double socket in loft

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Monkey789, 29 Nov 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Monkey789

    Monkey789

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Need some advice if possible.

    I want to get a double socket into the loft to power a cctv system.

    I thought about taking a spur from the lighting but have done some research and seen this appears to be a no no.

    I’d therefore have to get a spur from the upstairs sockets ring.

    Our airing cupboard seems to be the best place for this but there’s no socket in there to use. We have a combi so our airing cupboard is empty of any electrics - apart from a small artificial heater that’s on a fused switch. Can I use this fused switch for the double socket as well as the artificial heater?

    Or can I convert the fused switch to power the double socket in the loft instead of the artificial heater? I’d then be able to isolate the double socket if needed?? We never use the heater so I’d be happy to remove it and use the switch for a double socket instead.

    If none of these are options, will I have to use a normal upstairs double socket to spur from. I’d rather not have to do loads of channeling out the wall to feed the cable really but want to do a proper safe job and not a botch job.

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,141
    Thanks Received:
    1,925
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you think it is a no-no?

    Alternatively you could use/share the heater feed.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Monkey789

    Monkey789

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ve read on multiple occasions that you shouldn’t do it. From what I understand it’s in case someone thinks it’s isolated in future because it’s a socket whereas it’s actually on the lighting circuit?!

    If it’ll work, I’ll consider it and label it up or something to prevent any future accidents. Otherwise I’ll try the heater feed if that’ll work.
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    43,124
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is just one of the regulars in this forum who will take every opportunity to say that it "shouldn't be done" - and that despite the fact that 13A sockets are one of the things which the Wiring Regulations explicitly say may be fed from a lighting circuit!
    That's one consideration, but "his" usual argument is that someone might plug in a vacuum cleaner, tripping the lighting circuit and hence 'plunging the house into darkness'.
    It will certainly 'work' - but I agree that it would be sensible to label it to indicate that it is on the lighting circuit (relevant for isolation, as you say) and hence only suitable for small loads.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  6. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,141
    Thanks Received:
    1,925
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That’s rubbish. Anybody doing any electrical work on any circuit should (must) be following safe isolation procedures.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. JamesS01

    JamesS01

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    43,124
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If possible, that's ideal (and there'#s not necessarily any need for them to be switched ones) - BUT the usual reason why people want sockets in a loft is to plug in 'wallwart' power supplies, that will only plug in to 13A sockets.

    Kind Regards, John
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    4,747
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    using the supply from the airing cupboard sounds ideal.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which almost certainly used to be for an immersion heater.

    And it's a POP to take a cable up into the loft from there.
     
  12. Monkey789

    Monkey789

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That’s great, thanks for all the replies.

    The bit about the lighting circuit was actually on several different forums but as long as it’s safe and won’t set my house on fire then I’m happy to do that.

    It’s interesting to get the opinion of several people.

    Cheers.
     
  13. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,141
    Thanks Received:
    1,925
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get a random three people on this forum and they’ll all have different ways of doing just about anything:rolleyes:
     
  14. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,090
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And some are more 'random' than others :))
     
  15. Monkey789

    Monkey789

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If I were to use the lighting circuit, would it be best to cut into an existing cable and use junction box or just use an existing light fitting for the spur?
     
  16. john4703

    john4703

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am about to fit a single 13A unswitched socket near my front door to power an intercom. It will be supplied from a lighting circuit as that is easiest, perfectly safe and it needs to be 13A because the intercom has a wallwort. I know it will be safe.
     
  17. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,141
    Thanks Received:
    1,925
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I hope the lighting circuit is RCD protected then. Or it won’t be “perfectly safe”, will it?
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page