Double socket

Joined
14 Mar 2017
Messages
29
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Hi i have a double socket but i want a switched fused spur. Is there anyway to have a single socket and a switched fused spur in the same double socket pattress box.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
14 Mar 2017
Messages
29
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Thats what i hoped you could do. What about connecting them to the existing wiring.
 
Joined
15 Nov 2005
Messages
77,587
Reaction score
4,861
Location
Crossgates, Europe
Country
Cook Islands
as it's a socket, it's most likely on a ring, or possibly a radial, so it will most likely have two cables connected to it.

You can put one of the cables on the left-hand accessory, one on the right, and put a short length between the two, so that the ring or radial continues through them.

There is an alternative way to do it.

If there is only one cable, it is either a spur, or the end of a radial, so come back for more advice.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
5 May 2010
Messages
4,559
Reaction score
719
Location
Stirlingshire
Country
United Kingdom
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,587
Reaction score
3,418
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
... You can put one of the cables on the left-hand accessory, one on the right, and put a short length between the two, so that the ring or radial continues through them....
True - but I'm not sure what that's got to do with the OP's question about getting both accessories in one pattress box :)

As has been said (by different people), to do what the OP wants would presumably require either a modular/grid approach or the use of a (wider than double) 'dual box'.

Kind Regards, John
 
Joined
15 Jun 2021
Messages
2,142
Reaction score
516
Location
Wales
Country
United Kingdom
You can if you make it up with modular plates eg
https://www.socketsandswitches.com/index.asp?SKSID=840&ItemID=33596
https://www.socketsandswitches.com/index.asp?SKSID=840&ItemID=17394
and any switches or blanking plates needed
Not sure if there's a flex outlet module available.

For info, a flex outlet:

https://www.cef.co.uk/catalogue/products/5463-cord-anchorage-module

(Though an easy DIY job with a blanking plate!)
And a fused module:

https://www.cef.co.uk/catalogue/products/1584486-13a-fused-connection-unit-module-white

Although these will fit in a two gang back box, the ability to switch on the outlets has been lost, compared with the dual back box solution.
 
Joined
28 Mar 2004
Messages
9,858
Reaction score
440
Country
United Kingdom
You can if you make it up with modular plates eg
https://www.socketsandswitches.com/index.asp?SKSID=840&ItemID=33596
https://www.socketsandswitches.com/index.asp?SKSID=840&ItemID=17394
and any switches or blanking plates needed
Not sure if there's a flex outlet module available.
The problem is you run out of spaces.

A standard UK double plate takes four Euro modules. 13A socket euro modules are double-sized, so four modules is just enough to fit a socket, a switch and a fuse. You don't have any room left for stuff like a flex outlet or a second switch.

You can get bigger Euro module plates for bigger boxes of course but if you are going to replace the box anyway you may as well go for the dual box and normal accessories.

Also when it comes to flex outlets i'm not finding many good options for mains wiring in Euro module form factor. Most are brush plates with no cable restraint, fine for passing AV cables through walls but not for terminating a mains cable. The RPP one randomgrinch linked uses a clip-in cable restraint which is likely to be quite fussy about flex size. BG do a "45A" one based on a proper gland but it's a double module in size.
 
Last edited:

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top