Putting double socket on cooker ring (30amp 6mm cable)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm replacing my gas cooker with a seperate single electric oven and gas hob.

The single oven is less than 3kw and can be installed in a 13amp socket as can the hob.

My old cooker was wired directly into a FCU on the main ring.

The question I have is;

There is a dedicated cooker ring at 30amp that is not being used (I found it buried beneath the tiles and taped up). Can I use this for the oven and hob by adding a double socket to it? The wire looks to be 6mm cable. As I'm not technically adding a new ring/socket etc, would this be exempt from Part P?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
You could put a twin 13A socket on there assuming the 6mm circuit is still in use and tests out OK.
I would carry out full continuity and insulation tests first.

Also assuming the circuit hasnt been diverted elsewhere! Is it still connected to your fuseboard?

This is subject to Part P as it is electrical work in a kitchen. You could look on it as a repair, however ;)

The cooker has it's own fusebox under the stairs, seperate from the CU. It's definately not being used for anything else.

Regarding the test though, this would need to be carried out by a qualified electrician?

You could put a twin 13A socket on there assuming the 6mm circuit is still in use and tests out OK.
I would carry out full continuity and insulation tests first.

I'd advise against this. Both your oven and hob are high current devices, and when both turned on you could be potentially drawing 26A through the double socket. As a double S/O is not designed to carry more than 13A continuously this presents quite a serious fire risk. You would be better considering two single 13A outlets or FCUs.

EDITl: OK, my bad, it's only electric ignition for a gas hob. Ignore me!

Sponsored Links
I've just checked it and it doesn't work. The cables running from the fusebox have been cut.