qualifications required?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, I wonder if anyone can help.
Prior to joining the airforce in 1969, i did 3 years as an apprentice electrical engineer, (city and guilds electrical engineering technician)
During 5 years in the raf I was a ground radio mechanic.

I am due to retire in 18 months and thought a useful way to augment my pension would be to offer my services on a self employed basis doing small jobs i.e - fitting new lights/sockets etc in domestic households.
Would I need any accreditation to carry out such work, and if so , what does it entail.

Sponsored Links
I once heard that you dont need any qualifications to work on house electrics...

Is this true?

barold said:
Would I need any accreditation to carry out such work, and if so , what does it entail.

to work on "anything" electrical you have to be a qualifed electrician to the current i.e.e. regs

you would need to sit the apropriate exam, and all the training it involves.

The "problem" with what you intend to do is that of responsability / liability

if something were to go wrong you become liable for it, also when working on anything you then become liable for the all that is connected to that circuit.

which basicaly means without the correct qualifications you can not get insurance which means you can be sued to the hilt and then some.

although you have city and guilds as electrical engineer its not quite the same.

That said why don't you see if you can get a job as an electrical engineer, it pays more.

I agree with breezers thoughts, however, you could do electrical jobs now, and if you can't get insurance, take the responsibility yourself. I wouldn't recommend it, but you could do it.