rad hot at top but not bottom (myson thermostat on rad)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
total noobie to this forum and to DIY in general (and plumbing!).
Have just moved into my 1st house and in at the deep end!

One of the rads is only heating up at the top, and even then not getting very hot. I've bled all the rads in the flat following advice found on this forum.

The offending radiator has got a fancy Myson thermostat looking thing on it (I'm guessing that's what it is - only one other rad in the flat has this device on it)

I read on another thread that it could be "sludged up"..
But could it be something to do with the Myson thingy??

I have no idea how to proceed really, all I do know is I have no money for a plumber right now!! If anyone could give some advice that'd be great.
Cheers,
Joe

Sponsored Links
Try removing the myson head only part of the valve and gently tapping the pin in the middle until it pops up freely after being pushed down.

If this fails then it does sound as though there is sludge in the radiator.

You would need to turn both valves off to this rad then drain it, remove it and take outside and flush through with a hose connected to the cold mains.

Could be sludge alright.
I'd release the nut on one end of the rad and see what colour the water comes out.
If its black then thats not a good sign. :(

Thanks for the advice gas4u and balenza.

balenza i don't understand what nut you mean?

gas4you
This is like the thermostat (but mine's a bit less moders looking)
TRV_2_WAY.jpg

where would i remove it from??

sorry for my ignorance

Joe

Sponsored Links
The large Knurled nut at the bottom of the plastic head.

Not either of the nuts on the rad tail or the pipework ;)

Thanks G4u,
just to confirm,
I don't need to drain the rad or turn my central heating off or anything special do I??? I just screw that sucker right off??

Thanks for the quick response...appreciated

Joebells wrote