Rad sizes and regs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,
In new builds do radiators need to be designed to meet the requirements of the room size and kw output needs?

Reason being, in a friends new build the radiators are tiny and blatantly undersized; probably half the size need and rooms do not get warm due to this issue.

The builder is proving to be a constant nightmare and refusing to answer concerns with this and many more issues with the new build. It seems builders can do as they please with no governing body in place to help sort out complaints.

Basically, does the installer need to comply with any regulations I could use to get them come back and alter the system.

It seems plumbers worked to a plan and installed the rads then a gas fitter later came and installed the gas boiler and commisioned the system.

Many thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Interesting question.

I am a plumber/ gas engineer who doesn't do site work, or work for national housebuilders.

Both my daughters bought new builds last year, and when I went to inspect, I was amazed at how small the rads were.

BUT, the houses are so well insulated, they just don't lose heat, so the fag packet size rads are more than adequate to heat the house.

I'm sitting here in my barn conversion watching all the heat from a huge rad disappear through the walls with this easterly breeze:mad:

They need to know the heatloss of each room and size the radiators accordingly.

The heatloss should be very low if it's a new new build,

What temperature is the boiler set to?

The architects will have designed the system for the house design as a whole and would need to comply with the current energy efficiency regs and Part L 2013 (2016) of the BR, to have it signed off. New builds are usually pretty well insulated as previously mentioned and small rads are more the norm.

I'd be looking at the NHBC website, loads of new build/building regs info there.

Sponsored Links
rooms do not get warm