1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Radiator is using more water than before

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by WolfOfBakerStreet, 28 Dec 2020.

  1. WolfOfBakerStreet

    WolfOfBakerStreet

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I run one of my radiators the gas meter says more gas is being used than I believe is true. The other radiators are fine. Say, previously, the radiator showed up as using 100 units for 20 minutes. Now, it's saying 200.

    Eon say a smart meter is needed/it's a fault on their end/whatever the customer service rep I speak to at the time feels like saying the reason is. I'm currently waiting for them to call me to explain why my meter is giving me faulty readings and to book a smart meter appointment.

    Anyone here had any ideas about what is wrong? Do I need to get a plumber to look at the boiler and radiator, or should I wait to see what Eon says?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    8,036
    Thanks Received:
    2,274
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Erm, have to ask, is this a serious question?

    A radiator doesn't use gas. It's the boiler that does that and there isn't really a direct correlation between gas use and just heating one radiator.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    13,230
    Thanks Received:
    3,027
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As Madrab says, your radiators don't use gas, the boiler does that. How are you taking your measurements?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. WolfOfBakerStreet

    WolfOfBakerStreet

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't understand.

    I run one radiator, and check the usage by how many units have been used on the gas meter. Like I say, using the radiator for 20 minutes (average time I leave it on) would use x amount of units previously. Now its saying almost double.

    How is that not an accurate way of determining how much gas is being used?
     
  6. sjmac

    sjmac

    Joined:
    3 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    1,870
    Thanks Received:
    446
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Definitely a faulty radiator - must be out of calibration.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  7. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    4,442
    Thanks Received:
    920
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With an old-fashioned boiler (where the gas valve was open or closed) your test would give useful info. Modern boilers modulate the flame depending on the heat load of the system. Its got colder therefore load is greater.
    If you had a gas hob, running one or more rings for a period of time would again give a fixed consumption per hour
     
  8. WolfOfBakerStreet

    WolfOfBakerStreet

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And how does one re-calibrate?
     
  9. WolfOfBakerStreet

    WolfOfBakerStreet

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, but the other two radiators give consistent readings. Not 100% the same every time, but close enough. The radiator in question also has the same consistency.

    I've posted this on another forum too and people keep saying the same thing, about how it's impossible to determine how much is being used, but like I keep saying, I leave a rad on for twenty minutes, note the units, and I get consistent readings. That's how I know something is wrong.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    7,483
    Thanks Received:
    1,066
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your local gas board office can offer a recalibration service for radiators.
     
  12. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    4,442
    Thanks Received:
    920
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your measuring system has too many unmeasured variables. As explained by others, your boiler burns gas to heat water, that water is then cooled by passing it through radiators- the radiators transfer the heat to the room.
    Are the radiators fitted with TRVs.
    Are you measuring room and rad temperature before and after each run.
    (Combi boiler) is it set in preheat.
    (Combi boiler) is there any hot water being drawn during your tests.
     
  13. endecotp

    endecotp

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    3,949
    Thanks Received:
    507
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    “Previously” to what? Has something been changed?
     
  14. Mr.B

    Mr.B

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    211
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
    Last edited: 29 Dec 2020
  15. sjmac

    sjmac

    Joined:
    3 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    1,870
    Thanks Received:
    446
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure why people bother with re calibration. Rads are so cheap, its easier to scrap them and replace
     
  16. WolfOfBakerStreet

    WolfOfBakerStreet

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Gas board? And trying to re calibrate the rads myself would likely result in my burning my street down :LOL:
     
  17. WolfOfBakerStreet

    WolfOfBakerStreet

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe I'm being paranoid but over the summer I had my boiler serviced. But it was by a friend of my landlord who is very nice but I think a bit incompetent. It wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if he'd done something to cause this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page