Radiator leak

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

This is my first post please be gentle.

I've recently purchased my first home. I'm a complete newbie to this sort of stuff and have never had to worry about things around the house like this so I am a total novice. Poor effort for a man I know.

I've come across a light leak in a an upstairs bedroom radiator. Should it matter, this is also the nearest radiator to the boiler, which is a combi, as the boiler is also in said bedroom in a cupboard.

I've attached the picture below of where the leak is coming from. It's not drastic, when the heating is on, it doesn't drip at all, but you can feel it's a little bit wet around it, it's when the heating has been off for a few hours it then starts to drip. Again it's not drastic, but I assume it's something I should sort sooner rather than later.

What I'm not sure of is what this part of the radiator is called. I've attempted various google searches and image searches to no avail, so if i need to replace it, I'm not sure what it is that I am replacing.

A) Does the end cap bolt (as I'm calling it) need replacing?

B) Is it just the plastic stuff that's come away that needs replacing? (you may need to enlarge the image to see where it's come away) If so what is it? An O ring or a washer? Or can I just use PFT (i think) tape around the theads of the bolt?

C) How easy is this to do? If easy, could someone be as kind to give me a step by step in idiot guide form?

Sponsored Links
turn the radiator off at both ends, open the bleed screw and catch any pressure that comes out, if it doesn't stop then the radiator is not turned off and you should proceed no further, if the pressure stops then unscrew the blanking plug, clean it up and wrap ptfe tap around the thread and re seal to the radiator.

Rads have two tappings at the top, the installer chooses one to be the air vent and blanks the other off, this is the blanked one.