Radiators are getting very hot when thermostats are all low

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I have all my TRV's set to number 3 which I believe is average, I have my room stat set to 18 degrees, and my boiler stat set at 4 o'clock (12 - 12). Can anyone suggest why my radiators intermittently seem to be belting out heat (like almost too hot to touch), when the stats are all low ?

Could drafts be a factor with this ? It was very windy yesterday and I know our house is not that well insulated.

I want to be sure that there isn't a fault with the system, because our energy bills are high, and I'm thinking it could be related.

I appreciate any help.

Thanks
Paul

Sponsored Links
The TRV is a thermostat not a simple restricting valve so they can allow radiators to get hot if they are cool, to my understanding there are two types of valve, the older valve needed to be fitted correct way around and tended to switch on/off not gradually open close, the latter valve gradually opens and closes and can be fitted either way around, there are also different heads used on the valves varying from wax to electronic. Depending on head type is the range they work in, most non electronic have about a 3°C range between fully open and fully closed, mainly because the heat from the radiator will affect the setting, the electronic heads use two sensors and the air temperature is corrected by water temperature so work within a degree of setting. However the electronic also has anti hysteresis software built in so which means they are to my mind slow to respond to setting changes.