RCD Protection for Outside Socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My consumer unit has RCD protection for the main power sockets in my house. I want to tap off one of the internal sockets (drill through the wall) and connect a weatherproof socket on the outside wall to give me easy access to electrical power in my garden.

(1) Does this outside socket need to be RCD protected?
(2) Would it do any harm to have both the consumer unit and the external socket RCD protected (effectively in series with one another)?

The latter question is because I have a spare weatherproof RCD socket that I could use.

Sponsored Links
I am no electrician and will overlook notification requirements.

I assume you will go straight through the wall so no cable is exposed.

The outside socket does need to be RCD protected, which it is from the sound of it on your main CU.

Using an additional RCD socket is not needed but afaik will cause no harm, however if the RCD fires, you will probably find that both RCDs fire! I personally would view that as extra protection since RCDs can fail so having 2 of them I would assume makes that less likely.

What is important is that you are able to fully isolate the external socket in the event of a fault, so use a DP FCU/FSU to make that easy.

Many thanks for the prompt advice and particularly the point about being able to isolate the external socket.

It's also a good idea to have a slight diagonal when you drill from the inside to the outside so that water doesn't enter the wall though the hole, maybe stick a bit of sealant in the hole too

Sponsored Links
(1) Does this outside socket need to be RCD protected?
Yes, but this will be okay from CU only
(2) Would it do any harm to have both the consumer unit and the external socket RCD protected (effectively in series with one another)?
There is no need to have two RCDs rated the same, protecting the same equipment.