Recommend locks for internal doors.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, hopefully someone will be able to help.

I have 2 internal doors in my property (1 between the porch and the living room, and another between the kitchen and living room) that we want to fit some locks to.

Having locks on these internal doors is an increased security precaution (and also to help the missus sleep easier at night). I want to fit locks that can be opened from both sides so we can lock them on the way out of the house, and at night also as an extra obstacle for anyone who got through the front door or into the kitchen.

The doors are just average internal doors, reasonably solid (not the 'balsa' wood type).

I have a few questions

1, whats the best type to fit? mortice deadlocks seem the way to go from the little research ive done.

2, is it a reasonably do-able diy job to fit them? Im a sparky by trade so like to think im reasonably practicable :LOL:

3, Roughly how much am i looking at for these locks?

4, Any other tips or comments are appreciatted.

Regards.

Sponsored Links
you might find them useful if you want to prevent anyone poking into your rooms without having to break in (for example, lodgers)

but internal doors, their frames and their hinges, are relatively weak.

once a burglar has got into your house he can smash them down unobserved and fairly easily, so it is usually recommended that you do not lock them when the house is empty. It just leads to additional damage and expense :(
Spend your money on good window locks, and proper locks and bolts for the external doors.

however, at night it will enable you to hear if anyone is bashing the internal doors, so gives you additional warning.

I know people who use rack bolts (mortice bolts) top and bottom of downstairs internal doors as they can be locked from the hallway and are cheap and easy to fit.

You must not lock the doors that you depend on to escape in case of fire.