Remote control of boiler flow temperature?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm looking into a new regular boiler, or maybe a system boiler.

I'm a bit hopeless with tech. Is there an app, or smart controller, which lets you remotely alter the boiler flow temperature? Reason is, I might want to run the CH very cool, but be able to boost the temperature for DHW. It's a bit clunky, but I envisage turning DHW on for an hour a day and turning CH off. But, I wouldn't want to have to go into the garage and change the temperature manually every time.

Are there better ways to do this? I've mainly been looking at Worcester Bosch. They have an option for a "diverter valve" on the system boilers. Does anyone know if this lets you have the CH and DHW at different temperatures? Any other options?

Sponsored Links
Just been looking at exactly the same thing.

At the moment there doesn't seem to be a simple way to implement this though an Open Therm (OT) enabled boiler and control is the easiest direction to head in. I am still working down through a load of information though to understand what may be the easiest way to do this.

Reactions: CBW
You might need something like a priority hot water arrangement, which might be what Worcester are referring to.

This can certainly be achieved with an OpenTherm capable boiler (not WB) set up for Priority Hot Water. My preference for this arrangement is the Intergas Xclusive but others can do it too. WB can do it with their internal diverter but you have to buy their own very expensive controls.

Sponsored Links
You might need something like a priority hot water arrangement, which might be what Worcester are referring to.
WB's diverter valve option is exactly that, it performs as a HW priority and the EMS can then raise the setpoint but the issue with that is it then disables the CH, so if you need to run the HW to recover say a full cylinder, then the CH could cool down significantly until the HW is satisfied .